mySugr Challenge Group Recap

frankLast week I led 4 type 1 diabetic friends in a mySugr challenge group on Facebook.  [Click here to learn more.]  I did this because “I” needed motivation, and it’s seemed to cause many in the #doc to want to run challenges of their own.  That’s so cool.  It definitely did the trick for me.  It got me focusing my attention on everything I needed to.

For me, what participating in the challenge did was it made me feel like I wanted to provide a good example, so I was more diligent in checking my blood sugar, and doing correction bolus’s.  It allowed me to see how much insulin I was dosing for all those carbs I was eating!  Holy cow!  That caused me to eat fewer carbs, leveling out that trend line in the app.  It let me see first hand how many hypers/hypos I had in the last 7 days, which was kinda upsetting.  It made me try harder to keep them to a minumum for the second half of the week, which worked!  These are just some of things that helped me.  Now I’d like to share what other challengers have said about being in the challenge group.

“It helped me focus for 3 straight days. It made me focus on what I’m doing in a more structured way. It confirmed how long my digestion is often taking to kick in which helps me have more confidence in what I’m trying . . . “

gerald“It’s very difficult to give constructive criticism on something that seems so perfect, so fun and so exciting! I only have the free version so I have not been able to experience the awesomeness of the full app. I do plan on purchasing this app and recommending it to EVERY pwd that I know.”

“What I like about the challenge group is the feeling of “I need to stay on top of things”. Whether it’s making sure to check BG before meals or when I felt high/low, lasering in on carb-counting, or simply just checking in with my moods and extra-curricular activities, I was able to keep track of trends a little better.”

I’ve been asked to try to think of recommendations for the mySugr team, but like one of my friends above said, it’s hard to find constructive criticism for mySugr when it’s so perfect the way it is.  I too plan on purchasing the full version of the app.  The only thing I can really suggest is perhaps adding a couple more free challenges so that we advocates can have options for running more challenges to get people excited about using mySugr, and improving their diabetes control.  Maybe a 3 day and a 5 day challenge.  Oh yeah, and if you wanted to name them after famous vampires, that would be totally cool.  😉

 

[DOWNLOAD MYSUGR NOW]

 

About richthediabetic

Rich the Diabetic - Don't die like I did . . . . . lifelong type 1 diabetic for over 45 years, cardiac arrest survivor, diabetes advocate, blogger, and video blogger.
This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

