Not another cure . . . . .

i-want-to-believeCure, schmure.  Not another cure.  I’m so sick of hearing about the “latest cure research” in diabetes.  I’ve been hearing about the latest cure research all my life.  We’ve been on the brink of a cure, all my life, and I’m still not cured.  This latest news story from Harvard Department of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology, regarding creation of pancreatic insulin producing beta cells, from stem cells, is no different.  I’m just not excited about it.  I’ll be excited when I’m cured, not before.

Even IF there’s ever a cure, I don’t believe it will be offered to us.  Diabetes is the biggest recurring revenue source for big pharma, in the world.  A long lifetime of recurring revenue can be bled from nearly 30 million people, ever year, by multiple companies who supply diabetic supplies. Hell, if they cure diabetes, our economy will crash.

All of this hype about this latest cure news reminds me of the X-Files.  Fox Mulders basement office.  You remember the poster on his wall?  The UFO hovering with the quote “I want to believe”?  Basically, I desperately hope I”m 200% wrong, but I know better.  The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over, expecting a different result.  All my life, we’ve been on the brink of cure.  All my life, new research shows it’s right there, in sight, on the horizon.  I’m still not cured.  44 years as a T1D and I’m still not cured.  Seems a little insane to think this one is any different.  You can just call me Scully I guess.  She was always the sceptic, right?

Now many of my friends and family have personally sent me the link to the numerous news stories about this, and it took me forever to even go look at it, but I want you all to know how much I appreciate that you cared enough to share what you found.  I have read many articles now, and even tried to read the actual study, but it seems you need medical credentials to see that text.  Yes it looks hopeful, so thank you.

For those of you who have not yet seen this story, here is the direct link to the Harvard website:  http://hsci.harvard.edu/news/stem-cells-billions-human-insulin-producing-cells

About richthediabetic

Rich the Diabetic - Don't die like I did . . . . . lifelong type 1 diabetic for over 45 years, cardiac arrest survivor, diabetes advocate, blogger, and video blogger.
This entry was posted in Diabetes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Not another cure . . . . .

  1. StephenS says:

    Rich, I read this and couldn’t bring myself to write about it. I’m with you on this. Thanks.

    • richthediabetic says:

      Thanks Stephen. I’ve discovered that I’m not alone in my thoughts on this. I’ve received many similar comments from around cyberscape.

  2. Tavia V says:

    I’m totally going to start calling you Scully!!! 🙂

  3. Veronica says:

    Agree 100%. Big Pharma will never allow it.

  4. Hi Rich – Good story! I’ve been at this longer than you and sure don’t pull out the trumpet when I hear about another “cure”. I’d like to think the many scientists working on this “cure” have different motives than the Pharma companies though. But of course we aren’t holding our breath…

    • richthediabetic says:

      Hi Merle! Yeah, I was nervous about posting this article, because it wasn’t all supportive and fluffy bunny about the news, but I’ve come to realize that I have a lot of fellow T1D’s that think like I do. 🙂

  5. Jenn says:

    Hi Rich! I have a question about a type one diabetic symptom I’ve been struggling with for a little over a year now. Every time that I have a high carb meal I am able to correct the insulin dose without ever being high for more than 30 min and not entering the low zone. But I am constantly having terrible symptoms such as dizziness, thirst, anxiety, fast heart rate, and feel as if I’m going to pass out. Then I’ll check my glucose and it will be within the range of 120 -178. I don’t know if you’ve experienced this problem before. I’ve checked with my endo but he thinks that is no big deal. However, I can’t help be feel terrible. I really think that I am experiencing dehydration but lab orders have ruled out its not it. And I’ve also wondered if it was diabetic keto acidosis but my doc says I am no where near…
    Hopefully you might be able to help me, thanks =).
    P.S.
    My glucose average is at 140, so I don’t think it is from dropping too low too fast..

    • richthediabetic says:

      Hi Jenn, do you wear a CGM? If you don’t, your doctor/hospital might be able to “loan” you a CGM to try out for a few days to try to discover what’s going on. CGM manufacturers have been known to loan them to you to, to get you hooked, kinda like a drug dealer. 😉 That will at least let you know if it’s from crashing your blood sugar or not. Your symptoms could be from many different things unfortunately. I had those symptoms both when I had my heart issues, and after my heart issues were fixed when I started having anxiety attacks. An anxiety attack feels EXACTLY like a heart attack. Going on anxiety medication for 6 months cured me. Maybe get checked for that?

  6. becca says:

    I am glad I found your youtube video and blog!

Leave a Reply

